Contacts

Welcome to the Library Minyan of Temple Beth Am! We are a minyan that’s led and run by its members. Below are names and contact information for people in key roles, which should help you find ways to join in.

If you want to participate in Services, here are the people you might want to contact:

Mishna Study

Coordinator: Henry Morgen, MishnahStudy@libraryminyan.org.
Henry organizes the Mishna Study the precedes almost every Shabbat morning service.


D’var Torah

Alisa&DavidCoordinators: Alisa Shudofsky and David Cohen, libraryminyandrash@yahoo.com, know that everyone has at least one d’var Torah in them. We take pride in the range of people who offer Torah wisdom.


Haftarah chanting

Fran&BobMolinaCoordinators: Bob & Fran Malina, rmalina@la.twcbc.com or fmalina@la.twcbc.com, encourage people to return to their Bat/Bar Mitzvah Haftarah or take on a new one.


Leyning

Coordinator: Paul Miller, Paul.Alan.Miller@gmail.com. Paul welcomes new and returning leyners for short and longer aliyot. The Library Minyan follows the Triennial Cycle.


Gabbaim

AllanKokin

Allan Kokin chairs the Gabbaim & Coordinators Committee. Howard is currently recuperating. Jerry Krautman is filling in.

Current gabbaim are: Howard Fredman, Anita Happel, Myron Hecht, Teri Cohan Link, Jerry Krautman, and Paul Miller. Contact them at gabbaim@libraryminyan.org. Gabbaim recruit and guide those playing active roles in services. Individual gabbaim here.


Greeting Coordinator

SharonGrobSharon Grob, sgrob@ca.rr.com. Greeters are posted through Shacharit at the Chapel door. Being greeter is a great way connect with other members.


Other important people:

Webmaster

Webmaster: BobRoosthBob Roosth, webmaster@libraryminyan.org, sends out the Minyan Monthly and other electronic messages. On the website you can sign up for the Minyan Monthly.


Treasurer

Treasurer: DaleBodensteinDale Bodenstein, treasurer@libraryminyan.org, is an important member of the Finance Committee. To contribute to the Minyan, mail a check made out to “Library Minyan of TBA” to Dale at 1121 S. Spaulding Ave., LA, CA 90019, or donate online at tbala.org, designating the Library Minyan.


Committee heads

Rosh Ha-Minyan

Sandra Lepson, rosh@libraryminyan.org, heads the Steering Committee, provides liaison with Temple Beth Am, and serves as point person for members and visitors who have question concerning Minyan policy or practice.


Children and Youth

Chair: Ilana Grinblat, youth@libraryminyan.org, recruits and guides children’s participation in services: leading Ashrei, Ein Kelohainu, and Adon Olam, and holding the Torah, etc.


Communications

Chair: Susan Laemmle, communications@libraryminyan.org. This committee updates and disseminates Minyan-related information through this website and the Minyan Monthly The chair acts as recording secretary for the Steering Committee, and ensures that records of Steering Committee meetings and Minyan general meetings are maintained.


Education

Chair: Anita Happel, education@libraryminyan.org. This committee provides education programming for the Minyan that is open to the entire TBA kahal, and also helps people learn to take on new roles in services.


Finance

Chair: JonathanFriedmanJonathan Friedman, finance@libraryminyan.org. This committee develops financial policies and procedures for the Minyan, in cooperation with the Steering Committee and Temple Beth Am.


Ritual

Chair: MayerBrennerMayer Brenner, ritual@libraryminyan.org. This committee aims to keep the prayer experience relevant and meaningful, cultivating a sense of renewal. (bar mitzvah photo)


Social and Hospitality

Chair: MiriamPHMiriam Prum Hess, hospitality@libraryminyan.org, coordinates subcommittees for Chesed, Diaspora Potluck, Kiddush, and Ohel Patuach/ Open Tent.


Kiddush coordinator

Carl SunshineCarl Sunshine, kiddushcomm@libraryminyan.org, helps arrange co-sponsored kiddushes in honor of birthdays, anniversaries, or yahrzeits. He can also advise on individually sponsored kiddushes for major events.


Ohel Patuach/Open Tent

EssiaCartoon-FredmanCoordinator:  Essia Cartoon-Fredman, ohelpatuach@libraryminyan.org or efredman@pressmanacademy.org, opens the tent of home hospitality for newcomers and others. If you’d like to share a Shabbat or holiday meal in the home of Library Minyan members, contact her to arrange a shidduch.


Chesed Coordinator

batyaordinBatya Ordin, ordinbatya@gmail.com, supports Library Minyan members during the birth/adoption of a child, illness or death in the family. Contact Batya  if you or another member of our community needs assistance with meals.


Diaspora Potluck

michellewolfCommittee Co-Chairs: Michelle Wolf and Deborah Blum, dpl@libraryminyan.org, and their committee arrange pot-luck dining and other social events, mostly off-site from TBA.


Simcha Coordinator

FranGrossmanFran Grossman, jgross5049@aol.com, helps people plan a Bar or Bat Mitzvah, Aufruf, or other celebration at the Minyan.  Please contact Fran if you are planning a Simchah.



of Temple Beth Am